Sliding Into the Prairies: Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling Travels to North Battleford for the Meridian Canadian Open, Jan. 8-13

In Canadian Channels, Online TV, Sports, Sportsnet, Sportsnet 360, SportsNet NOW by CDN ViewerLeave a Comment

Starting this week, Canada’s Prairies will be in the national spotlight as the Meridian Canadian Open – the fifth event of the 2018-19 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season – arrives in North Battleford, SK, January 8 to 13. Showcasing the world’s best curlers in action, Sportsnet’s live coverage begins Thursday, Jan. 10 at 11:30 a.m. CT / 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT on Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW.

Taking over the North Battleford Civic Centre, the Meridian Canadian Open highlights the 16 top men’s teams and 16 best women’s teams from around the globe, including reigning world champion Team Jones (Winnipeg), 2018 Olympic gold medallist Team Hasselborg (Sundbyberg, SWE), defending champions Team De Cruz (Geneva, SUI) and reigning Pinty’s Cup champion Team Gushue (St. John’s). The tournament field also includes local fan-favourites Team Muyres (Saskatoon), provincial men’s junior champion Team Kleiter and North Battleford’s own Team Silvernagle. All participating teams will compete in a triple knockout bracket format, contending for a combined $250,000 purse and berths in the Humpty’s Champions Cup, the final Grand Slam event of the season.

Returning for another can’t-miss Grand Slamevent, Sportsnet’s expert curling commentators will be at the centre of the action in North Battleford. Veteran broadcasterRob Faulds will have the play-by-play call while World Curling Hall of Fame inductee Kevin Martin, 1998 Olympic silver medallist Mike Harris and 1998 Olympic gold medallist Joan McCusker provide insight and analysis throughout the bonspiel.

Sportsnet Broadcast Schedule – Meridian Canadian Open

*Broadcast schedule subject to change

Thursday, Jan. 10

  • Triple Knockout, 11:30 a.m. CT / 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Triple Knockout, 3 p.m. CT / 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Triple Knockout, 7 p.m. CT / 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT (Sportsnet ONE & Sportsnet NOW)

Friday, Jan. 11

  • Triple Knockout, 11:30 a.m. CT / 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Triple Knockout, 3 p.m. CT / 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Triple Knockout, 6:30 p.m. CT / 7:30 p.m. ET / 4:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet East, Ontario, Pacific & Sportsnet NOW)

Saturday, Jan. 12

  • Women’s Quarterfinals, 11:30 a.m. CT / 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT (CBC)
  • Men’s Quarterfinals, 3 p.m. CT / 4 p.m. ET / 1p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Men’s & Women’s Semifinals, 7 p.m. CT / 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360 & Sportsnet NOW)

Sunday, Jan. 13

  • Men’s Final, 11:30 a.m. CT / 12:30 p.m. ET / 9:30 a.m. PT (CBC)
  • Women’s Final, 3 p.m. CT / 4 p.m. ET / 1 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)

Leave a Comment

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.