Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling Slides into Truro for the Canadian Beef Masters, Oct. 23-28

CDN ViewerCanadian Channels, CBC, Sports, Sportsnet, Sportsnet 360Leave a Comment

Nova Scotia will be at the centre of the curling world next week as the sport’s biggest stars travel to Truro for the Canadian Beef Masters – the second event of the 2018-19 Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling season – from October 23-28. Sportsnet’s live coverage of the Canadian Beef Masters begins Thursday, Oct. 25 at 10:30 a.m. ET / 7:30 a.m. PT on Sportsnet and Sportsnet NOW. (Full broadcast schedule below).

Taking place at Truro’s Rath Eastlink Community Centre, the Canadian Beef Masters competition will feature 15 elite men’s and 15 elite women’s teams from around the world, including defending champions Team Gushue (St. John’s) and Team J. Jones (Winnipeg), the new-look Team Carruthers (Winnipeg), world No. 1 Team Hasselborg (Sundbyberg, SWE) and Halifax’s own Team K. Jones and Team Murphy. All participating teams will compete in a round-robin style bonspiel, contending for a combined $250,000 purse and a berth in the Humpty’s Champions Cup, the final Grand Slam event of the season.

Returning for another must-watch Grand Slamevent, Sportsnet’s expert curling commentators will be at the heart of the action in Truro. Veteran broadcasterRob Faulds will have the play-by-play call while 2010 Olympic gold medallist Kevin Martin, 1998 Olympic silver medallist Mike Harris and 1998 Olympic gold medallist Joan McCuskerprovide insight and analysis throughout the bonspiel.

Interviews and Media Accreditation

Pinty’s Grand Slam of Curling competitors and Sportsnet’s curling commentators are available to discuss theCanadian Beef Mastersand2018-19 season. For interview requests or media accreditation, please contact [email protected]

Tickets

Tournament passes and single draw tickets are available for purchase at thegrandslamofcurling.com

Pinty’s Cup

First introduced at the start of the 2018-19 season, the race for the Pinty’s Cup is set to continue next week in Truro. A new season-long race between all men’s and women’s teams, the Pinty’s Cup will see teams compete to accumulate points according to their performances at each Grand Slam event. The team that collects the highest total of points by the conclusion of the Players’ Championship in April will capture the winners’ share of the $300,000 Rogers Bonus Pool. The winners of both the men’s and women’s Pinty’s Cup will also receive personalized championship rings to commemorate their win.

Sportsnet Broadcast Schedule – Canadian Beef Masters

*Broadcast schedule subject to change

Thursday, Oct. 25

  • Round Robin, 10:30 a.m. ET / 7:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Round Robin, 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Round Robin, 6:30 p.m. ET / 3:30 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)

Friday, Oct. 26

  • Round Robin, 10:30 a.m. ET / 7:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Round Robin, 2:30 p.m. ET / 11:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Round Robin, 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT (Sportsnet 360 & Sportsnet NOW)

Saturday, Oct. 27

  • Men’s Quarterfinals, 10:30 a.m. ET / 7:30 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Women’s Quarterfinals, 3 p.m. ET / Noon PT (CBC)

Sunday, Oct. 28

  • Men’s & Women’s Semifinals, 9 a.m. ET / 6 a.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)
  • Men’s Final, 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT (CBC)
  • Women’s Final, 5 p.m. ET / 2 p.m. PT (Sportsnet & Sportsnet NOW)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Comment moderation is enabled. Your comment may take some time to appear.